Vermont VTUCP establishes a state medical marijuana registry program. As such, patients are required to register with the state. Qualified patients must be diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition by a qualified physician. If applicable, designation of a caregiver should also be included. After seeing a medical marijuana doctor, patients should register with the state. To register, a $50 non-refundable fee, and patients need to submit a notarized application form and a digital photograph for the registry ID. All patients must be residents of Vermont. The state registry will process applications within 30 days. Patients who are validated by the state are immune from state level criminal penalties on the use, possession, and cultivation of medical marijuana.